National Parks And Wildlife Sanctuaries In Assam

Share this:

Assam is the largest state in the North East State of India. Assam is famous for home to the one-horned Indian rhinoceros, along with the wild water buffalo, pygmy hog, tiger and various species of Asiatic birds, and provides one of the last wild habitats for the Asian elephant.

In Assam, you will get to see 18 wildlife sanctuaries and 6 national parks. Kaziranga National Park is certainly a very famous wildlife sanctuary situated on the banks of the mighty Brahmaputra River. This is the largest wildlife sanctuary in there.

National Parks in Assam

  1. Manas National Park

Area: 950.00 km2 Location: Kokrajhar, Chirang, Baksa, Bajali, Udalguri, and Darrang

  1. Kaziranga National Park

Image Source: NEWS LIVE TV

Area: 858.98 km2 Location: Golaghat, Nagaon district and Karbi Anglong

3. Dibru-Saikhowa National Park

Image Source: The Northeast Window

Area: 340.00 km2 Location: Dibrugarh and Tinsukia district

4. Dehing Patkai National Park

Area: 231.65 km2 Location: Dibrugarh and Tinsukia district

5. Nameri National Park

Area: 200.00 km2 Location: Sonitpur

6. Orang National Park

Area: 78.81 km2 Location: Darrang,Udalguri and Sonitpur district


Wildlife Sanctuaries in Assam

We have sorted 18 Wildlife Sanctuaries according to the area. Let’s see which the largest wildlife sanctuary in terms of area is.

1.  Marat Longri Wildlife Sanctuary

Area: 451.00 km2 Location: Karbi Anglong

2. Borail Wildlife Sanctuary

Area: 326.25 km2 Location: Cachar and Dima Hasao

3. East Karbi-Anglong Wildlife Sanctuary

Area: 222.81km2 Location: Karbi Anglong

4. Sonai Rupai Wildlife Sanctuary

Area: 220.00km2 Location: Sonitpur

5. Dehing Patkai Wildlife Sanctuary

Area: 111.19km2 Location: Dibrugarh and Tinsukia

6. Nambor-Doigrung Wildlife Sanctuary

Area: 97.15km2 Location: Golaghat

7. Amsang Wildlife Sanctuary

Area: 78.64km2 Location: Guwahati

8. Laokhowa Wildlife Sanctuary

Area: 70.13km2 Location: Nagaon

9. Chakrashila Wildlife Sanctuary

Area: 45.57km2 Location: Dhubri and Kokrajhar

10. Bura Chapori Wildlife Sanctuary

Area: 44.06km2 Location: Sonitpur

11. Pobitora Wildlife Sanctuary

Area: 38.80km2 Location: Marigaon

12. Nambor Wildlife Sanctuary

Area: 37.00km2 Location: Karbi Anglong

13. Panidihing Bird Sanctuary

Area: 33.93km2 Location: Sibsagar

14. Bornadi Wildlife Sanctuary

Area: 26.22km2 Location: Darrang

15. Hoollongapar Gibbon Sanctuary

Area: 20.98km2 Location: Jorhat

16. Bherjan-Borajan-Padumoni Wildlife Sanctuary

Area: 7.22km2 Location: Tinsukia

17. Garampani Wildlife Sanctuary

Area: 6.05km2 Location: Karbi Anglong

18. Dipor Bil Wildlife Sanctuary

Area: 4.14km2 Location: Kamrup

Share this:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *